A Love Letter Art

Onyx Family
2 min readJul 2, 2021

--

There is no must in art because art is free.

I’ve always marched to the beat of my own drum when it came to art.

I liked drawing my characters super tiny. My outlines were always thick. That was my unique style. And to this day, I prefer crayons over colored pencils and pens over markers.

When I went to school for half a year, before becoming homeschooled, I looked forward to Tuesdays because that was art class. I would spend hours drawing several pictures, and they would always have a story behind them. I remember a picture I drew of several cartoon kids; the page was filled to the brim with them. I imagined them as siblings stored up in one house. It’s kind of like the story of the lady living in the shoe house with several children.

As you can tell, I have a wild imagination.

I owned two precious items. The first was my art case. I wouldn’t let anyone touch it. It was black, broken, messy from painting, and most importantly–mine. My second favorite item was my purple portfolio where I stored all my pictures. These two items shaped my little artist’s mind where all of my imaginations were stored.

I took them on vacations, long car trips, and just about anywhere. As I grew older, I started using sketchbooks instead. In fact, my two other sisters were just as obsessed with sketch-booking as I was. Michaels was our favorite place to shop for them. At one point, I even made an Instagram account for my art (it’s gone now).

Needless to say, my whole life is and was about art!

As an adult, my love for illustrations has remained and I’m grateful for the gift God has placed in my heart to share art with the world. I’m striving to get better every day.

--

--

Onyx Family

The Onyx Family, America’s African-American family of entertainers, authors, and entrepreneurs, consists of parents, Mirthell and Rita, and their four children.